A 6.4 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the Aleutian Islands in Alaska.

September 26, 2012 A 6.4 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the Andrean Islands Region of the Aleutian Island Chain in Alaska: FoxNews.com reported the following story:

ANCHORAGE, Alaska – Seismologists say a strong earthquake has jolted Alaska’s sparsely populated western Aleutian islands.

There are no immediate reports of injury or damage from Wednesday’s magnitude 6.9 earthquake (revised by the USGS to 6.4). The Alaska Earthquake Information Center says the quake was felt in the communities of Adak and Atka, more than 1,000 miles from Anchorage.

The quake struck at 3:39 p.m. Alaska Daylight Time, or 7:39 p.m. EDT, and was centered 71 miles southwest of Adak. It was 11:39PM in London (GMT) and 4:39PM PDT.

The Tsunami Warning Center in Palmer, Alaska, says there is no expectation that the quake will create a damaging tsunami.

Today’s quake occurred 1,260 miles WSW of Anchorage, Alaska.

Here is the USGS Google map screen shot of the event:

Further, the USGS (United States Geological Survey) is reporting that today’s quake took place very close to the Tanaga Volcano.

Today’s earthquake is one of many that strike the Aleutian Island chain. Along with its myriad volcanoes, the Aleutian Islands are a very volatile section of the northern Pacific Ocean Ring of Fire.

The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Alaska Earthquakes, Aleutian Islands Earthquakes, Aleutian Islands Volcanoes, Anchorage, Earthquake, United States and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A 6.4 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the Aleutian Islands in Alaska.

  1. yamkin says:

    EMSC shows Magnitude 6.9 Depth 10 km

    USGS have purposely downgraded this quake.

  2. wfoster2011 says:

    Why would they do that?

Comments are closed.