A 6.6 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the South Pacific Ocean.

August 26, 2012 A 6.6 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the Northern Molucca Sea: The quake struck at 11:05PM local time. It was 3:05PM in London (GMT), 11:05AM in New York, 10:05AM in Chicago, 9:05AM in Denver and 8:05AM in Los Angeles. Although the tremor occurred at a relatively shallow 69 kilometers (43 miles) the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center (PTWC) stated that, “A tsunami is NOT expected.”
The quake hit 105 miles NNW of Ternate, Moluccas, Indonesia; 148 miles ENE of Manado, Sulawesi, Indonesia; 286 miles ENE of Gorontalo, Sulawesi, Indonesia; and 634 miles southwest of Koror, Palau (see map). Note: This quake was upgraded from 6.4 to 6.6 by the USGS today – Thanks for yamkin for pointing this out.

The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Events, Indonesia, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, News, Pacific Ocean, Philippines, Philippines, Ring of Fire, South Pacific Ocean, The Ring of Fire and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A 6.6 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the South Pacific Ocean.

  1. yamkin says:

    At present, EMSC shows Magnitude 6.6 – MOLUCCA SEA Depth 80 km
    http://www.emsc-csem.org/Earthquake/earthquake.php?id=282901

Comments are closed.