A 6.3 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the South Pacific – Near Vanuatu

July 6, 2012 A 6.3 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Near Vanuatu: The tremor occurred on July 6th, at 1:28PM local time. It was 10:28PM in New York (July 5th), 9:28PM in Chicago, 8:28PM in Denver and 7:28PM in Los Angeles. The quake hit 28 miles NNE of Port-Olry, Vanuatu; 57 miles north of Luganville, Vanuatu; 220 miles NNW of Port-Villa, Vanuatu; and 428 miles north of We, New Caledonia (see map).

The quake occurred at a relatively deep 179 kilometers (111 miles). That means that it was felt over a wide range; probably in Vanuatu, New Caledonia and the Solomon Islands. However, there is little chance of a tsunami at that depth See the USGS website for complete details.

The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, New Caledonia, Vanuatu and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.