A 6.2 Magnitude Earthquake struck Off the West Coast of North Island, New Zealand.

July 3, 2012 A 6.2 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Off the West Coast of North Island, New Zealand: Note: This earthquake has been reported as a 7.0 magnitude by some agencies. The quake occurred at 10:36PM local time at a depth of 236 kilometers (147 miles). At that depth there is no probability of a tsunami. Deep quakes like this one are felt over a very wide area.  See the USGS website for complete details.

The tremor was 65 miles SSW of New Plymouth, New Zealand; 104 miles WNW of Palmerston North and 107 miles NNW of Wellington, New Zealand (see maps).

Below, is a close-up of the earthquake epicenter and New Zealand.

The major fault line of New Zealand is shown below:

You can clearly see how the Pacific “Ring of Fire” tectonic plate boundary, slices directly through New Zealand; especially South Island. This is why N.Z. is home to so many major earthquakes and volcanoes.

At the time of the quake it was 6:36AM in New York, 5:36AM in Chicago, 4:36AM in Denver and 3:36AM in Los Angeles.  (Credits: Data – USGS, Narrative – W. G. Foster, Maps – Google Maps).

The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Australia, Earthquake, Events, Nature, New York City, New Zealand, Pacific Ocean, Ring of Fire, The Ring of Fire, Tsunami - Global, Volcanoes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.