A 6.2 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Near Tarapaca, Chile.

May 14, 2012 – A 6.2 Magnitude Quake Struck in Northern Chile: The quake struck in extreme Northern Chile, at the junctures of the borders of Chile, Bolivia and Peru. The tremor hit at a relatively deep 98 kilometers (61 miles) and was probably felt over a fairly wide area of Chile, Bolivia and Peru.
The tremor struck at 6:00AM in New York (and the epicenter), 5:00AM in Chicago, 4:00AM in Denver and 3:00AM in Los Angeles. It occurred 41 miles ENE of Tacna, Peru (see map), 66 miles northeast of Tarapaca, Chile; 88 miles ESE of Moquegua, Peru; and 1,084 miles north of Santiago, Chile.

Of the 354 earthquakes greater than or equal to 7.9 magnitude, that occurred over the last 40 years, Chile say 16, Peru 8 and Bolivia 1. The distribution of those 354 quakes by the top 20 countries, is shown in the graph above.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Bolivia, Chile, Earthquake, Peru and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.