A 6.8 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Eastern New Guinea.

April 17, 2012 – A 6.8 Magnitude Quake Struck Eastern New Guinea, Papua New Guinea: New Guinea (NG) is the second largest Island in the world, after Greenland. The western portion is part of Indonesia, while the eastern half is part of the Independent Nation of Papua New Guinea (PNG). Today’s powerful 6.8 magnitude tremor struck three hours and 23 minutes after a 6.7 magnitude tremor struck Valparaiso, Chile.
It was 5:13AM near the epicenter. The quake occurred at a relatively deep 208 kilometers (129 miles) and, therefore, was felt over a very wide area. No tsunami warning was issued as deep earthquakes do not usually generate tsunamis.
When the quake occurred, it was 3:13AM in New York, 2:13AM in Chicago, 1:13AM in Denver, 12:13AM in Los Angeles and 7:13AM in London England.
The powerful tremor was centered 86 miles north of Lae, NG, PNG; 90 miles ESE of Madang, NG, PNG; 273 miles north of Port Moresby, PNG (see map) and 1,563 miles NNW of Brisbane, Queensland, Australia.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Papua New Guinea and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.