A 6.2 Magnitude Earthquake Struck East of the South Sandwich Islands.

April 17, 2012 – A 6.2 Magnitude Quake Struck the South Atlantic Ocean: The 6.2 tremor that hit east of South Georgia (pictured below) and the South Sandwich Islands (a British Overseas Territory) was the third quake today, greater than 6.0 magnitude (M). A 6.7M hit east of Valparaiso, Chile at 3:50AM (GMT); followed three+ hours later by a 6.8M at 7:13AM east of New Guinea, Papua New Guinea; and now a 6.2M in the far south Atlantic Ocean (see map).


The tremor occurred 349 miles east of Bristol Island, the South Sandwich Islands; 420 miles ESE of Visokol Island, 1,668 miles southeast of Stanley, in the Falkland Islands; and 2,542 miles southeast of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
The quake occurred at 6:03PM near the epicenter, 3:03PM in New York, 2:03PM in Chicago, 1:03PM in Denver, 12:03PM in Los Angeles and 7:03PM in London, England.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Argentina, Chile, Earthquake, The Sandwich Islands and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A 6.2 Magnitude Earthquake Struck East of the South Sandwich Islands.

  1. Jacquelyn Fedyk says:

    There is a volcano located around that earth quake epicenter. I read an article about it. It has been around for hundreds of years and the tip top of it barely breaks the ocean surface.

    • wfoster2011 says:

      According to my volcano database their are several that it cold be. The latitude is right,in tha it is around -59S, however the longitude is off. Here are the candiates: Bristol Island, Montaq Island and Thule Island.
      yours,
      Bill Foster

Comments are closed.