Seven Earthquakes Struck off the West Coast of Northern Sumatra Today.

April 11, 2012 – Seven Earthquakes Struck the West Coast of Northern Sumatra Today: Two of the quakes were greater than 8.0 magnitude, one was 6.0 and five were greater than 5.0. This is close to the same location that saw the mega-quake and tsunami on December 26, 2012 that killed over 200,000 people and created massive destruction and carnage world-wide, especially around the Indian Ocean.
The details of the quakes are shown in the update graph, from the USGS, shown above. The carnage started at 8:38AM GMT with a massive 8.6 magnitude quake (3:38AM in New York and 12:38AM in Los Angles). Another powerful 8.2M aftershock occurred at 10:43AM GMT (5:43AM New York and 2:43AM Los Angeles).
This region is home to more strong earthquakes than any other in the world. Of the 354 tremors, greater than or equal to 6.0 between 1973 and 2012, Indonesia saw 45, Japan 37, Russia 24, the USA 22, the Solomon Islands 19, Chile and PNG (Papua New Guinea) 16, New Zealand 15, followed by Mexico, the Philippines, Vanuatu and China with 14 each.
I will continue to post on this extraordinary series of earthquakes throughout the day.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Chile, China, Disasters, Earthquake, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, News, Pacific Ocean, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Russia, The Sandwich Islands, United States, Vanuatu and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.