A 7.1 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Chile.

March 26, 2012 – A 7.1 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Chile: At 6:37PM local time, on March 25th (Sunday), a very powerful 7.1 magnitude quake struck central Chile near Talca, at a depth of 35 kilometers (21 miles). It was 6:37PM in New York (and the epicenter), 5:37PM in Chicago, 4:37PM in Denver and 3:37PM in Los Angeles.
This is one of the most earthquake prone regions in the world with 34 quakes, greater than or equal to 7.0 magnitude, occurring in the area since January 1, 1973. Chile topped the list with 16, followed by Peru (8), Colombia (4), Ecuador (3) and Venezuela, Argentina and Bolivia with one each.
Sunday’s tremor was 17 miles NNW of Talca, Maule, Chile (see map); 34 miles WSW of Curico, 61 miles NNE of Cauguenes and 136 miles SSW of Santiago, Chile.
One older gentlemen died of a heart attack and six people sustained injuries in Sunday’s tremor.
This area lives in fear of great quakes. On February 27, 2010 an 8.8 magnitude mega-quake struck the area resulting in 562 deaths, 12,000 injured; 500,000 houses destroyed and $30 billion dollars in damages. The most powerful earthquake in modern history occurred in Chile in 1960, resulting in death and destruction all around the Pacific Rim – including a deadly tsunami felt as far away as Japan.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Death, Earthquake, Ecuador, Events, Japan, Misc, Miscellaneous, New York City, News, Pacific Ocean, Peru, Peru-Bolvia, Review, Ring of Fire, South Pacific Ocean, The Ring of Fire, Venezuela and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.