A 6.3 Magnitude Earthquake Struck South of the Fiji Islands

January 24, 2012 – A 6.3 Magnitude Earthquake Struck South of the Fiji Islands: The quake was a relatively deep 583 kilometers (326 miles) and, therefore, was felt over a wide area. The quake struck at 52 minutes after midnight GMT. It was 12:52PM at the epicenter (Jan. 23rd), 7:52PM in New York, 6:52PM in Chicago, 5:52PM in Denver and 4:52PM in Los Angeles.
The tremor occurred 337 miles southeast of Ceva-i-Ra, Fiji; 342 miles SSW of Ndoi Island, Fiji; 469 miles south of Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji (see map) and 851 miles NNE of Auckland, New Zealand.
Of the 350 earthquakes greater than or equal to 7.0 magnitude, between 1973 and 2012; six have hit in Fiji. The last one was on September 15, 2011 and was a 7.2 magnitude event. The Fiji archipelago has over 300 Islands scattered across 200,000 square miles of the South Pacific Ocean. The total land mass of Fiji is 2,800 square miles.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Events, Fiji, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, New Caledonia, New Zealand, News, Pacific Ocean, Ring of Fire, South Pacific Ocean, The Kingdom of Tonga, The Ring of Fire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.