A 6.2 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the South Sandwich Islands Region.

December 11, 2011 – A 6.2 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Near the South Sandwich Islands: The quake occurred at 7:54AM at the epicenter at a depth of 121 kilometers (75 miles). No tsunami warnings or watches are likely with a quake this deep and at this lower magnitude.
The tremor occurred 64 miles north-west of Visokoi Island, in the South Sandwich Islands (SSI), 218 miles NNW of Bristol SSI, 1,229 miles ESE of Stanley, Falkland Islands (a British Protectorate); and 2,059 miles south-east of Buenos Aires, Argentina (see map).
It was 4:54AM in New York, 3:54AM in Chicago, 2:54AM in Denver and 1:54AM in Los Angeles.
This region of the South Atlantic Ocean is not known for major earthquakes. In fact, none greater than 7.0 magnitude have occurred in the last 40 years.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Argentina, Atlantic Ocean, Chile, Earthquake, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, New York City, News, South Atlantic Ocean and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A 6.2 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the South Sandwich Islands Region.

  1. Jacquelyn Fedyk says:

    Aren’t those really a mountain range of volcanoes? I heard there were some volcanoes to the east of the Sandwich Islands.

  2. wfoster2011 says:

    Yes, the mostly under sea South Sandwich Islands volcanic chain stretches south to Antarctica.
    yours,
    Willam G. Foster
    The Master of Disaster

Comments are closed.