A 6.2 Magnitude Thanksgiving Day Earthquake Struck Japan.

November 24, 2011 – A 6.2 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Japan: This 6.2 magnitude event was just south of Hokkaido Island (see map). It occurred at a depth of 42 kilometers (26 miles).
The quake was 102 miles east of Hakodate, Hokkaido, Japan; 108 miles southeast of Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan; 114 miles NNE of Hachinohe, Honshu, Japan; and 458 miles NNE of Tokyo, Japan.
Japan is one of the most earthquake prone regions on the planet. Of the 346 major quakes, greater than or equal to 7.0 magnitude from 1973 to 2011, 37 or 10.7% occurred in or near Japan. The last one was on July 10, 2011 off the East Coast of Honshu, Japan (7.0 magnitude) and was an aftershock of the March 11, 2011 mega-quake and tsunami.
Today’s tremor hit at 10:25AM UTC (GMT) and 9:25PM at the epicenter. It was 5:25AM in New York, 4:25AM in Chicago, 3:25AM in Denver and 2:25AM in Los Angeles.
No tsunami warnings or watches were issued by the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center (PTWC).
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Events, Japan, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, New York City, News, Pacific Ocean, Ring of Fire and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.