A 6.0 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the South Pacific.

October 8, 2011 – A 6.0 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Near Tonga: The Kingdom of Tonga is in a very earthquake prone area of the South Pacific Ocean. Tonga was the scene of seven earthquakes, of 7.0 magnitude or greater, since 1973. The latest one was on March 19, 2009 and was a 7.6 magnitude event.
Today’s quake was at a depth of 19 kilometers (12 miles), however, according to the NOAA Pacific Tsunami Warning Center; no Tsunami Warning or Watch has been issued.
The tremor was 137 miles ENE of Nuku’Alofa, Tonga; 138 miles SSE of Neiafu, Tonga; 238 miles WSW of Niue Island (see map); and 1,558 miles west of Papeete, Tahiti, French Polynesia.
It was 9:53PM at the epicenter, 4:53AM in New York, 3:53AM in Chicago, 2:53AM in Denver and 1:53AM in Los Angeles.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Fiji, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, News, Pacific Ocean, Ring of Fire, Samoa, South Pacific Ocean, The Kingdom of Tonga, The Ring of Fire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A 6.0 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the South Pacific.

  1. magga1 says:

    Why is Iceland not included?

Comments are closed.