A 6.5 Magnitude Earthquake Struck South of the Kermadec Islands.

October 7, 2011 – A 6.5 Magnitude Earthquake Struck South of the Kermadec Islands: The Kermadec Islands (New Zealand) are a volcanic Island Arc, in the South Pacific, approximately 550 miles north of New Zealand’s north Island. They are uninhabited except for a weather station on Raoul (see map).
The quake hit at 8:58PM at the epicenter and was 34 kilometers (21 miles) deep. The NOAA Pacific Tsunami Warning Center said that no tsunamis are likely. It was 4:58AM in New York, 3:58Am in Chicago, 2:58AM in Denver and 1:58AM in Los Angeles.
The tremor occurred 226 miles SSW of Raoul, Kermadec Island, New Zealand; 809 miles SSW of Nuko’alofa, Tonga; and 2,095 miles southwest of Papeete, Tahiti, French Polynesia.
New Zealand is an earthquake prone nation, with 14 quakes greater than 6.9 magnitude occurring since 1973. Five of those hit in or near the Kermadec Islands. The last to occur there was on July 6, 2011 and had a magnitude of 7.6.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Events, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, New Caledonia, New York City, New Zealand, News, Pacific Ocean, Ring of Fire, South Pacific Ocean, The Kingdom of Tonga, The Ring of Fire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.