A 6.6 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Near the East Coast of Honshu, Japan Less than Two Hours Ago.

September 16, 2011 – A 6.6 Magnitude (M) Earthquake (EQ) Hit of the East Coast of Honshu Japan: Another aftershock struck north of the 9.1M meg-quake on March 11, 2011. Today’s quake struck at a depth of 36 kilometers (22 miles), however, no tsunami warning was issued by the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center.
The quake hit on September 17th (because of the International Dateline) at 4:27AM at the epicenter. It was 93 miles ENE of Morioka, Japan (see map), 112 miles ESE of Aomori, Japan; and 358 miles NNE of Tokyo. The time of the quake in the U.S. was 3:27PM in New York, 2:27PM in Chicago, 1:27PM in Denver and 12:27PM in Los Angeles on September 16th.
Their have been 37 EQ’s greater than or equal to (>=) 7.0M over the last 38 years; six of which were in 2011: (1) 7.5M foreshock on March 9th, (2) the mega-quack of 9.1M on March 11th, (3) an aftershock of 7.9M March 11th, (4) another aftershock of 7.6M on March 11th, (5) 7.1M on April 7th and (6) 7.0M on July 10th. In a span of only 39 minutes on March 11th, their were three large EQ’s, one of which was enormous.
The prior post discussed the relative strength of EQ’s in terms of energy released. A 9.1M EQ is about 1,000 times stronger than a 7.1M, i.e., it would take one thousand 7.1M EQ’s to equal one 9.1M event.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Events, Japan, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, News, Pacific Ocean, Ring of Fire, The Ring of Fire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A 6.6 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Near the East Coast of Honshu, Japan Less than Two Hours Ago.

Comments are closed.