A Powerful 7.2 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Near Tonga and Fiji Less Than 45 Minuets Ago.

September 15, 2011 – A Large 7.2 Magnitude (M) Earthquake Struck the South Pacific Less Than 45 Minuets Ago: This is the fourth earthquake, greater than or equal to 6.0M, that has hit in the last 12 hours: (1) A 6.0M event east of New Zealand, (2) 6.2M near the east coast of Honshu, Japan, (3) A rare 6.0M quake near Cuba, and (4) This 7.2M event between The Kingdom of Tonga and Fiji. I will report on the Cuba event after this one.
The 7.2M quake struck at, a very deep, 593 kilometers (369 miles) and was, thus, felt over a very wide area. No tsunami warnings or watches were issued.
The strong tremor was 264 miles west of Nuku’Alofa, Tonga; 281 miles SSE of Suva, Fiji (see map) and 1,111 NNE of Auckland, New Zealand.
When the tremor hit, it was 3:31PM in New York, 2:31PM in Chicago, 1:31PM in Denver and 12:31PM in Los Angeles.
The next post will be on the rare 6.0M event near Cuba.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Events, Fiji, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, News, Pacific Ocean, Ring of Fire, South Pacific Ocean, The Kingdom of Tonga, The Ring of Fire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.