A 6.2 Magnitude Earthquake struck Off the East Coast of Honshu, Japan.

September 15, 2011 – A 6.2 Magnitude (M) Quake Struck Near the East Coast of Honshu, Japan: The tremor hit at 5:00PM at the epicenter and at a depth of 10 kilometers (6 miles). No tsunami warnings were issued.
The earthquake was 46 miles east of Mito, Honshu, Japan; 58 miles SSE of Iwaki, Japan; and only 97 miles ENE of Tokyo.
This marks the 37th earthquake, greater than or equal to (>=) 7M, that has struck Japan since January 1, 1973. Six occurred in 2011 alone: (1) A foreshock of 7.5M on March 9th, (2) the huge 9.1M on March 11th, (3) a 7.9M aftershock of the big one on March 11th, (4) a 7.6M aftershock on March 11th, only 10 minuets after the 7.9M aftershock, (5) 7.1M on April 7th and (6) 7.0M on July 10, 2011. The 7.9M aftershock was only 29 minuets after the catastrophic 9.1M main quake, followed 10 minuets later by another aftershock of 7.6M. That’s a “Hundred Year” event, followed by two very powerful aftershocks in the span of 39 minuets!
The tremor struck at 4:00AM in New York, 3AM in Chicago, 2AM in Denver and 1AM in Los Angeles.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Events, Japan, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, News, Pacific Ocean, Ring of Fire, The Ring of Fire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.