A 6.0 Magnitude Earthquake Struck East of New Zealand.

September 15, 2011 – A 6.0 Magnitude (M) Earthquake Struck of the North-East Coast of New Zealand: The quake struck at 7:43PM at the epicenter, at a depth of 13 kilometers (8 miles). No tsunami warnings were issued. The tremor was just east of the Pacific “Ring of Fire” (see map). The Ring of Fire marks the tectonic plate subduction zones that surround the Pacific Ocean, and create most of the biggest earthquakes on the planet. For example, the 2004 Sumatra earthquake and tsunami and the 2011 Japanese quake and tsunami, both occurred near the Ring of Fire.
The earthquake was 400 miles north-east of Auckland, New Zealand; 1,000 miles south of Nuku’Alofa, Tonga; and 2,130 miles south-west of Papeete, Tahiti, French Polynesia.
This is the 14th earthquake, of 7.0M or greater, that has occurred near N.Z. since January 1, 1973. The last quake greater than (>)7M hit on July 6, 2011 and was a very strong 7.6M.
This earthquake occurred at 3:53AM in New York (EDT), 2:53AM in Chicago (CDT), 1:53AM in Denver (MDT) and 12:53AM in Los Angeles (PDT).
Today, Thursday September 15th, saw three quakes greater than or equal too (>=) 6.0M, occurring within 50 minutes. See my next two posts for details. Seven minuets after the N.Z. quake, the East Coast of Honshu, Japan got hit. Forty-three minutes later, Cuba experienced a rare tremor.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Events, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, New Zealand, News, Pacific Ocean, Ring of Fire, South Pacific Ocean, The Kingdom of Tonga, The Ring of Fire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.