A 7.0 Magnitude Earthquake Struck a South Pacific Paradise.

September 3, 2011 – A 7.0 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Near Vanuatu: This was the third major earthquake, of 7.0 magnitude or higher, to strike near the South Pacific Island Nation of Vanuatu in the last 15 days. Two large earthquakes (7.2M and 7.1M) struck on August 20, 2011 near Port-Vila, Vanuatu. Today’s quake marks five tremors, 7.0M or higher, that have struck the world in the last two weeks.
The tremor was 132 kilometers deep (82 miles). A destructive tsunami warning was NOT issued by the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center (of NOAA) based on earthquake and historical tsunami data.
The earthquake was 78 miles SSE of Isangel, Vanuatu; 134 miles ENE of Tadine, Loyalty Islands, New Caledonia; 216 miles SSE of Port-Vila, Vanuatu and 1,155 miles ENE of Brisbane, Australia (see map).
It was 9:57AM (September 4) at the epicenter and 10:57PM UTC (Greenwich Mean Time) September 3rd. It was 6:57PM (Sept. 3rd) in New York (EDT), 5:57PM in Chicago (CDT), 4:57PM in Denver (MDT) and 3:57PM in Los Angeles (PDT).
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Events, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, News, Pacific Ocean, Papua New Guinea, Papua New Guinea, Ring of Fire, South Pacific Ocean, The Ring of Fire, The Solomom Islands, Vanuatu and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.