A 7.1 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the Aleutian Islands, Alaska less than an Hour Ago!

September 2, 2011 – A 7.1 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the Aleutian Islands, Alaska less than an Hour Ago: The very large quake occurred at a depth of 36 kilometers (21 miles). The major tremor was 107 miles east of Atka, AK; 130 miles WSW of Nikolski, AK; 212 miles east of Adak, AK; and 1,031 miles WSW of Anchorage, AK. No tsunami warnings or watches have been issued.
It was 1:56AM at the Epicenter, 6:56AM in New York (EDT), 5:56AM in Chicago (CDT), 4:56AM in Denver (MDT) and 3:56AM in Los Angeles (PDT). There is an active Volcano, Mount Cleveland, close to the earthquake epicenter (see map). Large quakes generally strike prior to significant volcanic eruptions. Additionally, the quake occurred just north of the Ring of Fire, a major subduction zone. Subduction zones, where one tectonic plate dives underneath another, are the scene of most major volcano and earthquake events. Stay tuned to the Chaos and Disaster blog for the latest updates.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Alaska Earthquakes, Aleutian Islands Earthquakes, Aleutian Islands Volcanoes, Anchorage, Earthquake, Events, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, News, Pacific Ocean, Ring of Fire, United States, Volcanoes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.