Powerful 7.5 Magnitude Earthquake Stricks South Pacific Paradise!

August 20, 2011 – A Powerful 7.5 Magnitude Earthquake Struck the South Pacific Island Nation of Vanuatu: A strong 7.5 Magnitude earthquake struck within 38 miles of Port-Vila, Vanuatu less than two hours ago. The pacific tsunami Warning Center issued the following statement, “No destructive widespread tsunami threat exists based on historical earthquake and tsunami data. However, earthquakes of this size sometimes generate local tsunamis that can be destructive along coasts located within a 100 Km (62 miles) of the earthquake center. No current warning, watch or advisory is in effect.” Port-Vila, Vanuatu (see map) is only 38 miles from the epicenter and the quake was a relatively shallow 40 kilometers (24 miles), therefore, the possibility of a local tsunami event exits.
Because of the International Date Line, the earthquake struck on August 21st (Sunday) at 3:55 AM Vanuatu Local Time. It occurred on August 20th at 12:55 PM in New York (EDT), 11:55 AM in Chicago (CDT), 10:55 AM in Denver (MDT) and 9:55 AM in Los Angeles (PDT).
The strong tremor was 38 miles SSW of Port-Vila, Vanuatu, 118 miles NW of Isangel, Vanuatu, 198 miles SSE of Santo (Luganville), Vanuatu and 1,151 miles ENE of Brisbane, Australia.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Australia, Earthquake, Events, Fiji, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, News, Pacific Ocean, South Pacific Ocean, The Solomom Islands, Vanuatu and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.