A 6.3 Magnitude Earthquake Struck Near the Kuril Islands in Russia.

August 4, 2011 – – A 6.3 Magnitude Earthquake struck SSW of Sever-Kuril’sk, Kuril Islands, Russia today (it was August 5th at the epicenter and August 4th in the USA): The quake was a shallow 30 miles in-depth (49 KM) and occurred at 1:52AM just off the southeast cost of the Kamchatka Peninsula, Russia. It was 336 miles SSW of Petropanlovsk-Kanchatsky, Russia; and 1,186 miles northeast of Tokyo, Japan (see map). It was southeast of the Sea of Okhotsk, which is located off the coast of far eastern Russia. There was no immediate word of damage or a tsunami associated with the tremor.
The quake occurred at 9:52AM in New York (EDT), 8:52 Chicago (CDT), 7:52AM Denver (MDT) and 6:52AM in Los Angeles (PDT) on August 4th; because of the International Date Line.
This clearly reflects movement in the northwest quadrant of the Pacific Tectonic Plate (Ring of Fire); encompassing the east coast of Japan, the Kuril Island Chain and Kamchatka Peninsula of Russia and the Aleutian Island Chain of the United States. Stay tuned for the latest updates.
The Master of Disaster

About wfoster2011

Disaster researcher and current financial and economic news and events: Accidents, economics, financial, news, nature, volcanoes, floods, earthquakes, fires; airplane, ship & train wrecks; tornadoes, mine cave-ins, hurricanes, pestilence, blizzards, storms, tzuami's, explosions, pollution, famine; heat & cold waves; nuclear accidents, drought, stampedes and general. Futures trader using high volume and open interest futures markets. Also, a financial, weather and mundane astrologer with over 30 years of experience. Three University degrees from California State University Northridge: BS - Accounting MS - Busines Administration BA - Psychology Served in the U. S. Army as an Armored Platoon Leader in the 5th Battalion, 68th Armored Regiment, 8th Infantry Division (Retired). Have published three books and 36 articles available for sale through my blog: Commodology - Secret of Soyobeans (Financial Astrology) Timing is the Key (Financial Astrology) Scum City, a fiction novel (no longer available, under contract to major publisher) Currently resident of Las Vegas, NV, USA
This entry was posted in Aleutian Islands Earthquakes, Events, Japan, Misc, Miscellaneous, Nature, News, Predictions, Russia, United States and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.